Divisions of APRA

APRA is organised into five divisions.

  • Specialised Institutions Division (SID)
  • Diversified Institutions Division (DID)
  • Policy & Advice Division (PAD)
  • Risk & Data Analytics Division (RDA)
  • Corporate Services Division (CSD)

Divisions of APRA

APRA’s frontline divisions are SID and DID. Frontline supervisors focus on financial and risk analysis as the primary part of their supervision function. This involves off-site analysis of data and information, regular contact with the supervised institutions as well as a continual program of on-site reviews.

SID is responsible for the supervision of 500 licensed entities including regional banks, credit unions, building societies, friendly societies, insurers and superannuation funds. DID is responsible for the prudential supervision of more than 250 functionally diversified financial institutions. These include large financial conglomerates, banks, insurance companies and superannuation firms.

The PAD ensures that APRA’s frontline supervisors possess the best possible tools to support them in their risk analyses and supervisory interventions. This division consists of General Counsel, Policy Development, Advice & Approvals, Resolution & Enforcement and Licensing.

The RDA division brings together specialists in statistics, industry analysis and risk to provide expertise in risk assessment, assisting frontline to supervise individual entities and industries as a whole. RDA is consists of Credit & Market Risk, Governance, Insurance and Operational Risk and Data Analytics functions.

As the name suggests, the CSD provides corporate shared services functions that assist other divisions in achieving APRA’s strategic objectives. For example, functions such as People & Culture, Information Technology, Media & Communications and Finance are found here.